23 Jan

What is with this thing in new fiction where one doesn’t use quotation marks? I can understand the first person trying it out, but now that it is so terribly common…why? What does it mean?

It makes me think about when my grade 8 teacher told me that one doesn’t use exclamation marks in literature…or any kind of writing outside of comic books. I still wonder about this, but I think he’s wrong. He was wrong about a lot of things, and he thought we couldn’t tell that  he was picking his nose at his desk when he held his other hand in front of it.

Leave a Reply

